Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program

• Purpose

 The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields.

• Eligibility Requirements

- Be a full-time matriculated sophomore or junior pursuing a degree at an accredited institution of higher education during the 2021–2022 academic year, and intend to pursue research careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering.
- Have a college grade-point average of at least 3.0
- Be a United States citizen, a permanent resident, or, for students nominated from American Samoa or Commonwealth of the Mariana Islands, a United States national.

Application Process

- To apply for the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program students must first contact the campus representative, Dr. Todd Fraley, to start the application process.
- Applications open in early September.
- Students can expect the following requirements throughout the process:
 - Original application
 - Online questionnaire
 - research essay
 - three letters of recommendation
 - A 2-page personal essay
 - Transcripts for all college coursework
 - Copy of Permanent Resident card
- The application deadline is 5:00pm (Central Time) on the last Friday in January.

• Selection Process

• Applications are reviewed and award letters will be mailed to students by late March.

Campus Contact

To apply, contact ECU Goldwater Campus Contact, Dr. Todd Fraley at <u>fraleyt@ecu.edu</u>.

• Website Link

- For more information, please visit <u>https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org</u>.
- Recent ECU Recipients
 - Elliot Paul- 2021 Recipient
 - William Guiler 2020 recipient

